SailNet Community - View Single Post - What's your biggest bonehead move sailing?
View Single Post
Old 03-14-2013

taylor_sf is on a distinguished road
Re: What's your biggest bonehead move sailing?

What's really great about this thread is the number of years it has been going for. I've made a few really dumb mistakes in the year that I have been frequently sailing. They have all related to not paying attention to tides and winds (particularly before attempting to sail keelboats with no motors). I've started paying attention to both. I've been reading this thread in the hopes that it will help me to not mess up as I take my first trip in my recently acquired boat. Thanks everyone for the great stories on here and the wisdom that can be gleaned from them.

SO HERE GOES:

A friend and I had been fixing up his boat for a couple of months to get it seaworthy. We fitted new spreaders for it, inventing tools for guessing the curve of the mast (which we cut into them with a jigsaw).

We finally had the mast up, and the boat was ready to sail. We got two cute girls onboard for the glorious maiden voyage to be. We brought a picnic, knowing that we would be out all day. We started the outboard and triumphantly began raising the sails as we motored out.

We paid no attention to the wind. We did not check the tide.