SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

North america to central/south america

2K views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  Sofiami 
#1 ·
Hello.

My name is Sofia, I’m a 22 years old, looking to crew on a boat that goes from north America (ideally North east coast of NA) to south/central America. I have been born and raised in Greece and I’ve spend my last 4 years in Montreal, Canada, where I completed my undergraduate degree at McGill’s university school of Environment. I speak Greek, English, French and basic Spanish.

I do not have much sailing experience, but I am very familiar with life on board, as I have spend most of my summers traveling on RIB boats in the Mediteranean. I am very hardworking, eager to learn, responsible and dependable. I am healthy and physically fit (and can guarantee I do not get sea sick). In addition to the regular crew duties, I can be very helpful with cooking, cleaning and taking care of children.

I would like to leave NA in mid-end of June as I would like to be in South America by the end of July (but even somewhere in Central america would be great, and I ll find another way to go south). You can reach me at sofiamaniat (at) yahoo (dot) gr and I’m available to skype as well -send me an email first.

Thanks.

See less See more
#3 ·
@sww914
thank you for your reply. important to know that it will be hurricane season - i knew that the winds would not be ideal, but I thought that since it will be summer (vacations) for north americans, many boats will go towards the Caribbean.

#4 ·
North Americans generally 'winter' in the Caribbean... it's not quite the idyllic place in true 'summer'.... And in any event getting from East Coast Canada to South America in a month is not likely on a sailing vessel.