Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Orleans
Thanked 43 Times in 40 Posts
Rep Power: 11
Re: You are NOT "FISHING"
Sure, but if you're 'restricted in ability to maneuver" but do nothing to show it and it's all underwater and not visible or obvious, how do I get faulted under the rules for thinking I had right of way? You keep your status a secret to an otherwise reasonable and attentive observer when the rules say you 'shall" exhibit the required lights and shapes, and you've kept your "privileged" status a secret to the point where (my opinion) you lose it because you've caused a collision or close-quarters situation unnecessarily.
I guess we could say an invisible boat (if such existed) off my starboard has the right of way. yet there's no way I could know that. This is like "is there sound in the forest with no one to hear it".
Last edited by nolatom; 04-29-2013 at 05:26 PM.