Re: You are NOT "FISHING"
Yeah, I also think that lack of proper lights and shapes doesn't change your status, you're still off my starboard bow and crossing so you're still privileged under rule 15 even if your red running light is out. But I don't see you til too late and so can't avoid hitting you, despite "perfect" lookout (sans electronics, let's assume). But your failure to "communicate" whether by lights or otherwise, means your 'stand-on' status doesn't do you any good when we get to the who-pays-who stage.
So you still 'are what you are'. But so what? Won't help you if only you knew what you were, and that mystery/my resulting ignorance was all your fault.
Put it another way, if i have a night scope and see your dark boat crossing ahead from stbd, I'm still the give-way boat and have to go under your stern. But you're lucky I had a night scope.
Last edited by nolatom; 05-02-2013 at 03:03 PM.