SailNet Community - View Single Post - You are NOT "FISHING"
View Single Post
post #123 of Old 05-02-2013
cupper3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3,157
Thanks: 13
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Rep Power: 6
 
Re: You are NOT "FISHING"

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackdale View Post
Not really - It took forever over at CF to convince folks that a single-handed sailor cannot up 2 red lights or 2 black balls when sleeping. Nor can they put out a sea anchor and use an anchor light. Not everyone was convinced.
I thought I read the thread on CF where this is discussed, but not sure if I got a definitive understanding of Rule 27.

Why would it NOT be appropriate for a single handed sailboat to display the double red when the skipper is asleep? The boat is clearly not under command in that situation, or is my interpretation not correct? There is nothing in the discussion in the above link which would indicate that a double red is an inappropriate use in that situation.

I sometimes am a slow learner



Why are people happy to accept science which makes their life easier while rejecting science that makes their faith or beliefs more difficult?

cupper3 is offline  
Quote Share with Facebook
 
 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome