Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Deale, MD
Thanked 51 Times in 51 Posts
Rep Power: 7
Re: You are NOT "FISHING"
I thought I read the thread on CF where this is discussed, but not sure if I got a definitive understanding of Rule 27.
Why would it NOT be appropriate for a single handed sailboat to display the double red when the skipper is asleep? The boat is clearly not under command in that situation, or is my interpretation not correct? There is nothing in the discussion in the above link which would indicate that a double red is an inappropriate use in that situation.
I sometimes am a slow learner
"A vessel not under command has usually suffered a disability, which is not easy to predict or classify. An example would be a vessel with a disabled rudder. The navigation light requirement is, therefore, brief and general."
Not undercomand does not mean the captain is asleep, it means he cannot control the boat. There is a clear difference.
My understanding is that there is no correct marking for the simple reason that you are REQUIRED to keep watch. No out from this.
(when asked how he reached the starting holds on a difficult rock climbing problem that clearly favored taller climbers - he was perhaps 5'5")
"Well, I just climb up to them."
by Joe Brown, English rock climber
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.