SailNet Community - View Single Post - Another America’s Cup entry destroyed
View Single Post
post #200 of Old 05-15-2013
Omatako
Senior Member
 
Omatako's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Posts: 2,552
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Rep Power: 12
 
Re: Another America’s Cup entry destroyed

Going back to the last AC when Oracle trounced Bertarelli's cat and remembering how easy it was for Spithill to catch the cat in the start box on a port tack, they are hopefully going to change some rules about the dial-up sequences, etc. Spithill was miles away when Bertarelli tacked to port and with the unbelievable boat speed of the trimaran, he was onto the cat before they could blink.

The fact is that if a boat is caught on a port tack and earns a penalty, the other boat will finish the race and be back in it's pen by the time the penalised boat does a 360 to unwind his penalty.

One wonders how many of the old racing rules have become redundant with the new format of vessels, if any.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________

"Two possibilities exist: Either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying."

Arthur C. Clarke
Omatako is offline  
Quote Share with Facebook
 
 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome