SailNet Community - View Single Post - Know the rules!
Thread: Know the rules!
View Single Post
post #13 of Old 06-26-2013 Thread Starter
andrewoliv
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 88
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 4
 
Re: Know the rules!

Quote:
Originally Posted by skelmir View Post
Technically both those cases are within the rules. You were the stand-on boat but choose not to be by reacting first. According to the rules you first course of action should have been five short blasts and only after they still did nothing should you alter course. Not saying that you are wrong but if there was a collision and you altered course first then you are not necessarily in the right anymore.
Good point. But in both cases I didn't have time for the horn blasts as I was doing what was expected of me and very close. There is the "Last clear chance" rule so I altered course as I was the captain with the last chance to avoid the collision. Believe it or not in both cases had there been a collision there is a high probability that both captains would have been at fault. The captain that disregarded the rules and the captain that did not avoid the collision.

1979 Mariner 28
Sailing out of Herrington Harbor North
Deale, MD
andrewoliv is offline  
Quote Share with Facebook
 
 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome