SailNet Community - View Single Post - Replacing engine mounts
View Single Post
Old 07-28-2013

BMLipiec is on a distinguished road
Re: Replacing engine mounts

I just replaced mine earlier this summer and used a combination of 2x4s and a cheap chain fall that I found at Harbor Freight. However, before I started lifting anything I carefully measured the height of each mount with a caliper so that I could get it back close to alignment afterwards. I had to take the measurement differently for each mount due to the clearance for the caliper, so I made pen marks on the struts and engine beds to get the caliper in the same exact spot later and also took photos with my phone for each one. The pictures helped out immensely because it was hard to remember exactly how I held the caliper or what I was measuring from in the first place. This part worked out better than I had expected and after changing out all the mounts and returning them to the previous measurements my engine was almost perfectly aligned. (In the second attached picture you can see the pen marks on the mount and engine bed in an effort to return the caliper to the exact same spot later.)