SailNet Community - View Single Post - Rule 18 and Starboard Tack at the Leeward Mark
View Single Post
post #2 of Old 07-31-2013
Letrappes
Senior Member
 
Letrappes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lake Charles, LA
Posts: 144
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 6
 
If you truly were the inside boat in the three boat length circle at the leeward mark then you were required to be given room by the other boats. The starboard boat which came in from clear astern only had rights on boats which were outside or behind him before the three boat length circle. By that boat making you change course at the mark rounding he fouled you and every other boat that owed you room at the mark.

In a protest committee you would've been exonerated and probably could've gotten redress for avoiding the collision. The boat on starboard that barged in would've been thrown out for not exonerating themselves by doing a 720. This would of course only have occurred if someone on your boat or the surrounding boats had protested as per RRS or the SI's if they were different.

The overtaking boat should've taken the outside of the pinwheel, gotten clear air and left you behind. I see this situation a lot with catamaran sailors who think higher speed = more rights.
Letrappes is offline  
Quote Share with Facebook
 
 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome