SailNet Community - View Single Post - What Is A Boat Really Worth?
View Single Post
Old 08-03-2013

sailpower is on a distinguished road
Re: What Is A Boat Really Worth?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JulieMor View Post
FYI: I'm not a lawyer, but I was raised by one and that and $5 will buy a small coffee at Starbucks, maybe.

I'm guessing any broker aware of the existence of the YBAA agreement is going to use it. I've been over that agreement several times with a fine tooth comb. I can't find a single loophole that would allow a seller to sue the broker for anything.

But that shouldn't be a surprise. It's a contract created for the brokers by their attorneys and designed to protect the brokers, first and foremost.
As I stated, my question was directed to actual attorneys. The reason for that is because I am looking for an answer based on law not opinion or emotion.

You might have been raised by attorneys but so what? You are no more qualified to answer the legal question than if you had been raised by wolves. OK, redundant, never mind.

I will address your characterization of the YBAA contract. Back in the early 90’s when there was not much of an internet and YBAA was YABA, professional brokers saw the need for industry wide standardized listing and purchase agreements. If you saw the differing agreements that were then in use you would understand why. YABA undertook the task of providing them. There was much discussion and legal consultation and the first contracts were created. They have been modified a bit over the years but the intent remains the same; to provide a fair basis for all parties to them.