SailNet Community - View Single Post - Mutiny at Dawn - Transpac Race 2013
View Single Post
  #387  
Old 08-06-2013
Sanduskysailor Sanduskysailor is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 316
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 6
Sanduskysailor is on a distinguished road
Re: Mutiny at Dawn - Transpac Race 2013

"Now, using autohelm was technically against the race rules, except for double-handed boats. However, it was also clear from the race rules that uses of autohelm would be subject to a penalty, and would not lead to disqualification. This was laid out with great clarity in the race rules. And it was quite obvious that the Transpac would have no interest in disqualifying a boat that was already in last place."

Jake I am sorry to hear that you had to endure the race on the ship of fools but your statement quoted above is a bit bothersome. As soon as you turned on the autopilot you were in violation of rule 52 of the 2013-16 rules of racing. There is no penalty or exoneration for breaking that rule, only disqualification. What clarity was there in the Transpac NOR regarding this? Exception 1.6 pertains only to the double handed class regarding autopilots. It is no different than turning on your motor, putting it in gear and motoring. Not cool and definitely not kosher no matter how far behind you were. It is not the responsibility of the Transpac Committee to enforce this. It is incumbent on yourself to call it on yourself. Hopefully you don't teach sailboat racing along with the sailing classes you give.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook