SailNet Community - View Single Post - Beneteau Oceanis 45;I need your help to select right spec for 2yr world cruise please
View Single Post
Old 08-11-2013

Daniels34 is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb Beneteau Oceanis 45;I need your help to select right spec for 2yr world cruise please

My wife and I decided to buy a new (or 2012) Beneteau Oceanis 45 to use:[LIST][*]During a 2 year sail trip around the world[*]With wife, 2 kids (3&10) and me[*]We look for a comfortable and safe boat that is relatively fast

I ask your help to select the right specification bearing in mind I have to be able to sail single-handed. Please comment on:
  1. Which sails should we choose? I was thinking: (a) standard 50m2 furing main sail, (b) 50m2 furling genoa (c) kotterfog for heavy winds (d) Beneteau's code 0 and (e) a Parasailor for downwind (suggestions on brand/type are welcome?)
  2. Standard saildrive or POD 90 for easy docking; I am not very experienced and thought the POD 90 was interesting for docking and shallow bays with reefs...
  3. 2 or 3 cabin options; we lean towards 2 cabins as we could use the versatile storage; including for a dishwasher and/or washing machine
  4. Colour of the hull; we really like a break from white and thought the grey/blue is refreshing; would this be an issue thought whenever repairing any damage?
  5. Having read many books on ocean crossings all get damaged in Panama canal, busy Malaysian ports etc. anyone who fitted a thick (10cm) rubber barrier all around the boat? (Maybe crazy suggestion and yes would not win in beauty contest)
  6. Electronics; I specced the full Elegance, Electronic and Docking packs. Missing anything?
  7. Navigation; Elegance and Electronic pack incl autopilot and bowthrusters. What does the optional Simrad NSS7 chart table screen add?
  8. Shallow (1,75m) or normal (2,15) cast iron keel?
  9. Beneteau's Easy Sail worth the money?