SailNet Community - View Single Post - Skipper App Review
View Single Post
Old 08-22-2013
Asleep at the wheel

jimgo is on a distinguished road
Skipper App Review

To the mods: I wasn't sure if this belonged in GI or in the Apps forum, or if you want it elsewhere. Feel free to move it as you see fit.

For those who don't know me, I'm a novice. I read a lot, and am happy to share my experiences and what I've learned, but in the end, I'm a novice. So, it was with some trepidation that decided to try to move my newly repaired, new-to-me boat from Rock Hall to Forked River, NJ. I started off by using Active Captain to study the charts for my intended route. Toward the end, I think I could have drawn the route on the map, including approximate depths, in my sleep. That being said, I wasn't about to trust my memory. I had a Garmin 440S chart plotter from my old boat that I was planning on installing on the new boat, but I wanted to have backups. I didn't really want paper charts, though. So, when the team with Skipper posted their free 1 year trial offer, I decided to take advantage of it.

Skipper is a really neat app. It uses your phone/tablet GPS to get your position, and acts as a chart plotter. It can even download the most current charts and store them on your phone, which is a GREAT feature if you're in areas with bad cell coverage (as was the case occasionally during our trip). It also allows you to superimpose different layers on top of each other, so you can see, for example, the local chart on top of satellite imagery, which was a great help when trying to find buoys or other waypoints. It also integrates with Active Captain, which is good for helping to identify shoaling and other possible issues, and it can track your movements so you can see the route you've taken.