SailNet Community - View Single Post - Americas cup triple touch penalty to Kiwi's
View Single Post
post #1 of Old 09-26-2013 Thread Starter
Senior Member
davidpm's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Madison
Posts: 4,421
Thanks: 345
Thanked 74 Times in 65 Posts
Rep Power: 10
Americas cup triple touch penalty to Kiwi's

I've raced a very little but usually I'm so busy grinding something I never get a chance to look up and see what is going on so pardon a dumb question.

About three races from the end the boats touched and the Kiwi's got a penalty.

Could someone explain that.
It looked to me like the american boat came up from behind which in normal rules would mean it was burdened but apparently the rules are different in racing.

So exactly what happened and why?

The lesson from the Icarus story is not about human failing.
It is a lesson about the limitations of wax as an adhesive.
If you have an engineering problem solve it.
davidpm is online now  
Quote Share with Facebook
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome