SailNet Community - View Single Post - Americas cup triple touch penalty to Kiwi's
View Single Post
post #4 of Old 09-26-2013 Thread Starter
davidpm
Senior Member
 
davidpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Madison
Posts: 4,302
Thanks: 323
Thanked 68 Times in 59 Posts
Rep Power: 9
 
Re: Americas cup triple touch penalty to Kiwi's

I normal rules of the road I don't believe it works this way.

The rule that supersede all others is that if you are the burdened boat, in this case the overtaking boat their is nothing you can do to shift the burden to the other boat.
You have to give way until their is no risk of collision.

It makes sense that it would be different in a race though.
Couldn't the kiwi's just fallen off enough to stay in front of the US boat?

The lesson from the Icarus story is not about human failing.
It is a lesson about the limitations of wax as an adhesive.
If you have an engineering problem solve it.
davidpm is offline  
Quote Share with Facebook
 
 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome