SailNet Community - View Single Post - Americas cup triple touch penalty to Kiwi's
View Single Post
  #5  
Old 09-26-2013
BarryL's Avatar
BarryL BarryL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,539
Thanks: 3
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 11
BarryL is on a distinguished road
Re: Americas cup triple touch penalty to Kiwi's

Hi,

This is standard rules of the road stuff. Oracle was behind and had to keep clear of a boat ahead. Then they sailed 'under' NZ and gained an overlap. At this point they were no longer behind, but were on the same tack and were leeward. The rules state that windward must keep clear of leeward. A leeward boat can come up and the windward boat must keep clear. Since NZ didn't 'do all they were able to do' to keep clear, and eventually hit Oracle, they were assessed a penalty.

At least that's my understanding!

Barry
__________________
Barry Lenoble
Day To Remember, 1986 O'day 35 For Sale
Deep Blue C, 2002 C&C 110 For Sail
Mt. Sinai, NY

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook