SailNet Community - View Single Post - Americas cup triple touch penalty to Kiwi's
View Single Post
post #7 of Old 09-26-2013 Thread Starter
Senior Member
davidpm's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Madison
Posts: 4,514
Thanks: 367
Thanked 76 Times in 67 Posts
Rep Power: 10
Re: Americas cup triple touch penalty to Kiwi's

Originally Posted by BarryL View Post

This is standard rules of the road stuff.
That's my point.
I think this is a racing modification to standard rules.

If you are ahead of me and we are cruising and your in an old tub with blown out sails and can't point too well and I've got a race boat that can point 35 true and sneak in an overlap on your leeward side that fact that I was the aggressor and was behind means even if I make myself the leeward boat I still have to keep clear.

As the burdened boat I can't do anything to force you to move.

No more than if I'm on your starboard side about 125 degrees off your bow and I think I'm clever and maneuver my boat so I'm 115 degrees off your bow thinking that I shifted the burden to you.
It doesn't work that way.

Once I have the burden which be definition is only in a situation where a risk of collision occurs I have to give way until their is no longer any risk of collision I can't in any way just shift it to you.

I tried to read the 55 times overlap is used in the rules and they were incomprehensible to me so maybe a real racer can give a simplified version.

The lesson from the Icarus story is not about human failing.
It is a lesson about the limitations of wax as an adhesive.
If you have an engineering problem solve it.
davidpm is offline  
Quote Share with Facebook
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome