SailNet Community - View Single Post - HIgh RPM in neutral
View Single Post
Old 02-13-2007
Senior Moment

RickBowman is an unknown quantity at this point
Loaded RPM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edwright105
Ok, I am a marine engineer so I thought I would weigh in... First off I don't really think that running your engine at wide open throttle in neutral is a very good idea.. Diesel engines do not respond very well to this kind of treatment. Diesel engines run best under loaded conditions (rated full load is optimum but not realistic that you will run at that load all the time). Likely the rpm of 3600 that you are reading about is under loaded conditions... if not you could have a slight problem with your governor, a difference of 400 rpm is however not anything you need to worry to much about. As for having bad rings, and blow by I don't think that is very likely because once a diesel starts firing on an external fuel source ie. lube oil blowing by the piston rings... which is very unlikely, the engine will usually run away and you will have a very big problem on your hands (a catastrophic failure) In any case a difference of 400 rpm's is not a huge deal, don't sweat it
take care

Ed,