SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

How to go for 1 or 2 year cruise?

18K views 78 replies 30 participants last post by  bblument 
#1 ·
Hello everyone, Im a long time reader of this forum but never really post anything. I in a point in my life where I considere taking 1 or 2 year off to travel and clear my head and look for new opportunity and horizon.

I am new to sailling, I have a Tanzer 7.5 that i bought 2 years ago and i have been sailling the st-laurence river in Québec city for 2 years now. The river is fun to sail but can also be challenging with the 20' tide that we have.

I would like to go cruising for 1 year or 2, got some money aside +/-75k. What would you suggest I do. I look at different option. I shop for a 28 to 35' boat around 20 to 30k. I wonder if I should cross the atlantic from halifax to azores than go to carrabean or cross form Florida to carrabean. I have zero open water experience I read alot on the subject.

English is my secong language so excuse the many grammatical error that i probably did.

Im looking for guidance, idea, tips on where should I start if I want to go cruising.

Thank you!

See less See more
#5 ·
Yeah south is a good idea, I was wondering if buying a boat already there (carrabean) is a good idea?

Is it too expensive outfitting a boat overthere? Would you advice against it?
If you can find something you like that is already there, I would go for it. Depending on where that boat is it may be more or less costly than outfitting it in Canada or US, but usually not by much. Try to find a boat that already has what you need. Much cheaper option most of the time.

#6 ·