SailNet Community - View Single Post - Nissan / Tohatsu 6h 4 stroke
View Single Post
Old 01-27-2014

Crazy is on a distinguished road
Re: Nissan / Tohatsu 6h 4 stroke

Gentlemen- I have read through a lot of this thread. I have little experience with outboards but a LOT with motorcycles. And Honda, Yamaha, Suzuki are motorcycle manufacturers first and foremost. And Tohatsu did some too back some years. But in order to compete with the big guys they must at least equal their knowledge and technology.
My point is: the Tohatsu 6hp is 123cc and oversquare. Which means the cylinder bore is larger that the stroke. This is a common- almost the rule- for japanese engines. And it is conducive to high rpms.