SailNet Community - View Single Post - A word of warning about an Annapolis broker
View Single Post
Old 01-03-2001

ursu is on a distinguished road
A word of warning about an Annapolis broker

I would happily apoligize or recant anything I posted if there was anything untrue in it. There are some ommisions or glazing over the facts in your response. Their was no "pulling a rabbit out of your hat" requested. In my initial contact with Jill she informed me that the Tayana 37 PH was sold and asked if I would be interested in viewing other boats. My response was yes and we discussed the Corbin and the Fisher that day. I told her that I would indeed be interested in viewing both boats. Yes in fact I was doing more on my visit than just looking at boats. Travel out of state is an expensive process and I want to maximize my time. I was apalled at the lack of preperation. I am a professional sales person and have often arranged for customers to visit showrooms out of state sometimes without my being there. I have always felt it was my job and why I get paid to make shure my customer is taken care of. Jill should have known that the Fisher was in a yard that was locked on Sat. & Sun. These were the possible day I stated for a visit from the initial contact. Being candid with me about her ability to have someone else help me even a week prior to my arrival would have allowed me to salvage my time. Letting me know on Sat. before a Sun arrival rather limited my options. This would have been a minor annoyance had I been a local and just reschedaled for another day. Unfortunatly living in Kansas City a return visit will cost me hundreds of dollars adding to an already expensive process. I frequently steer my customers to my competitors for various reasons. It is that trust gained from truly trying to solve their needs that brings me loyal customers. I would have had nothing but praises for Jill if she had simply stated that could not accomidate my needs and reccomended someone el