SailNet Community - View Single Post - USCG 6 Pack License
View Single Post
Old 02-12-2014

capt jgwinks is on a distinguished road
re: USCG 6 Pack License

I have been teaching the OUPV and Master courses for over 10 years. In my experience it is well worth the tuition to take a USCG approved course as the test is then given by the school, not the CG. We know what questions are on the exams and we make sure the students are prepared. (Yes, we do teach to the exam.) Only about 10% of candidates taking the CG exams will pass on the first try, and very many will not pass on their third try. (You get three chances). After that you have to start all over, and pay the fee again. As was previously stated, many of the questions on the Rules exam are just plain tricky, not having anything to do with practical seamanship, but how well you memorized the rule book. We have to have those questions on our exams as well, but we make sure you know the correct wording to answer correctly.
I suggest to everyone that they go for 25, 50, or 100 ( depending on your sea time) Ton Master instead of OUPV (6 pack). For Inland / Great Lakes the sea time requirement 360 days on any waters, the same as OUPV, for Near Coastal it's 720 days total of which 360 was outside of the Demarcation Lines (outside of harbors & bays.) US Citizenship is also required. I know many people who were really only looking for the fishing charter license but ended up working on larger boats because they had the Master ticket.