SailNet Community - View Single Post - Rules of the Road: Precedence?
View Single Post
post #19 of Old 07-14-2007
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Originally Posted by nolatom
On the same tack, windward has the right of way, leeward doesn't. If in close quarters, windward has to keep clear. I don't think this is that complicated.
I hate to disagree with anyone, especially being the newbee that I am. But after reading Nolatom's reply I had to go to my ASA 101 text book. It stated that on the same tack "the windward boat shall stay clear of the leeward boat".

I'm sure that he just made a mistake. But I just had to correct it for anyone new to sailing that might take it as true. I am corrct aren't I???

I'm not sure about in close quarter so I'll have to take his word on that one.
GlenK is offline  
Quote Share with Facebook
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome