SailNet Community - View Single Post - Any advice on first time sailboat choice. Wilard30, Coronardo 41, Catalina 36
View Single Post
Old 10-11-2007
Best Looking MALE Mod

Cruisingdad is a jewel in the rough Cruisingdad is a jewel in the rough Cruisingdad is a jewel in the rough
Boy there is more to diuscuss here than I have time for right now, but I will throw some thoughts out.

First, 100k for a Catalina 36 1988 is absurd. I guess the prices is because they are throwing in the slip as well? If so, I have no experience about that. The 36 is a great boat, and one of my favorite. I seem to be writing a lot about them lately for some reason. It would be a good liveaboard boat with a couple of compromises that I do not like: 1) No seperate shower, 2) V berth for a master. If that is a MkI, I assume you do not have a seperate 2nd cabin. That sure would be nice. As a cruising boat, it is great. THe only negatives are the low tankage and not quite as much stowage as I would like. Still, it is probably THE most poplula cruising boat Catalina makes under 40 feet.

I have lived aboard. The reality of living aboard versus the dream of living aboard are two different things. I hope to soon be LA with the family again, but I shall warn you it is not all sun sets and margaritas. The wrong boat can take something that 'could' be wonderful and turn it into a nightmare. For example: What do you do when your head goes out? You only have one? How are you going to wash your clothes? Where will you go to get away from each other (this is important, as everyone wants their own space eventually). The list goes on.