SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

ATF or SAE ? Yanmar 4JH2E / Trans: KM4A

15K views 4 replies 5 participants last post by  blt2ski 
#1 ·
Last week I was checking the transmission fluid on my Yanmar 4JH2E / Transmission: KM4A. The boat; a 94' Caliber 40 is new too me as of one year ago. The ATF was a little low but as I am about to change the Oil for the last time this year for winterization I made a note to change that too in the coming week.

As I was putting the cap back on I studied the plate on the front of the transmission, I then relized it actually calls for SAE 30 wt. Apparently the Previous Owner was using ATF and it was missed be me (and my surveyor..) I have since confirmed on a couple of Yanmar sites that it calls for the same oil as the engine.

Now I am not sure what to do. Keep using ATF or switch to Oil? I had the discussion with a fellow Yanmar owner and he was of the opinion that I should keep using ATF under the stratagy of not messing with something that seems to work. I am not sure thats good idea.

The Transmission runs fine - altho occasionly it seems to take a second or two to slip into gear. Not sure if that would have anything to do with the oil..

Any thoughts?

#2 ·
ATF - Automatic Transmission Fluid - used in automatic transmissions on cars and in "hydraulic" gearboxes on boats. A manual/mechanical shift box might well be happier with SAE 30 engine lubricant. But anyway, guarantee terms demand that the recommended product be used. I would drain it and used the YANMAR recommended product.

#3 ·
Yanmar have used both ATF and SAE30/eng oil in their gearboxes. General rule: disk-clutch=ATF, cone-clutch SAE30/engine oil.