SailNet Community - View Single Post - Used boat purchase advice
View Single Post
Old 05-26-2008

Tidykat is on a distinguished road
Hey Guys, I am fairly new to this sailing thing in fact so new that I have never sailed before. I had been looking for a boat to purchase and live on for the last year or so, and I found one that well, let's just say it was love at first site. A friend took me to to see the boat back in Jan, as I was to meet up with some one who had told me about the boat. She ( my driver ) had taken some pic, with her camera phone and sent them to me. so I immediately started searching the net to try and identify it. I thought it was a Pearson, and it was not, I looked at Alberg, and it was not I looked at Morgan and it was not and even looked at a host of others that came close but they were not it.
So finally after being frustrated and ready to buy this boat, iI had a friend take me over to see it again and fortunately the owner was home, so I had asked it was for sale, and yes was his answer, to my delight.
Now for the best part, it is at the momment affordable.
Second, it happens to be a 1965 Grampian Classic 31.
So after the ooooooh's and ahhhhhhhhs's I went to look at her again last week to make sure that I really wanted this vessel and took a boat mechanic with me, and like most old boats unless well maintained they need a lot of work. and this one is no different.
well perhaps worse.
One of the the first things that I had noticed was some pitting in the keel, like little holes I think, then some small blisters, then as I was doing the walk around I noticed that the prop came in 2 pieces which my mechanic took of while trying to turn the shaft.( the boat is out of the water).
It did have a bout 4 inches of rain water in it, because the hatch was deteriorated and the companion way was open.