SailNet Community - View Single Post - Yet another seacock thread
View Single Post
Old 08-10-2008

badsanta is on a distinguished road
Sorry this is so long and I wish I had taken a photo.

Before I did mine I had several different boat yards say the same thing. "I have been doing this for 40 years......bla,bla,bla. After I took my old ones off and found only two turns of threads connecting them. I feel so much safer now. I did the right thing.

But you do need a sealant around the mushroom flange. Even doing it the wrong way as your yard guy wants to, it has to be sealed under the flange. The mixed threads will seal, but you will get no strength at the connection. What if you bump a log or something, I think the weak connection would just pop the flange off.

Some will say I did mine wrong, but this is how I was told from a guy who only installs the flange a lot.

Remove the old flange by cutting it off with a sawsall. Don’t spend all day trying to be nice to it, just cut it off. I cut off the seacock then stuck the saw blade into to hole of the thru hull and cut it in several places around the flange. (Care full don’t cut to deep or you will cut the boat hull)
Cut a backing plate to size. Glass the backing plate and let dry.
Now put backing plate over hull hole and drill hole to match from the outside in.
Now take a thru hull and insert through the backing board to the flange adapter. Now drill holes for the flange adapter and bolt it to the backing board. Now remove the thru hull.
Now the flange adapter is connected to the backing board, I installed the sea **** valve at this time.