SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Please Advise me about a sailboat with an older Diesel Engine

4K views 11 replies 10 participants last post by  Andyman 
#1 ·
I am a newbie at sailing and we are considering a 25 foot Bayfield with a 76 Yanmar YSE8 diesel engine. The engine was rebuilt in 1993. It had new heads and mufflers in 2007.

Here's my question, should I avoid this engine? Is it 32 years old or is it 15 years old? My dreams are modest...I only want to sail in gentle winds with my family on weekends...

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Glen

#2 ·
Hi,

I'll chime in on this one, but first I'VE NEVER OWNED A DIESEL. So take this with that warning.

If the diesel has been well maintained and the up keep has been done annually, I would think the engine wouldn't be a deal breaker. Diesels are know for their longevity, when compared to gas, as long as they're not neglected. Also if this boat is really "the one" for you, and the only thing stopping you is the older engine, you could always have a diesel mechanic perform a mechanical survery on the diesel engine. This will at least give you some peace of mind if the survey comes back good and if it doesn't come back good, maybe give you a little leverage in asking for a lower price...

Well good luck. Bayfields are nice rugged/good looking boats.

#10 ·
Hi,

I'll chime in on this one, but first I'VE NEVER OWNED A DIESEL. So take this with that warning.

If the diesel has been well maintained and the up keep has been done annually, I would think the engine wouldn't be a deal breaker. Diesels are know for their longevity, when compared to gas, as long as they're not neglected.