SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Need an A4 Mechanic in Chicago

3K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  SEMIJim 
#1 ·
Hi All-

Im the proud new owner of a 1976 Cal 27 Tall Rig with an Atomic 4.

I've been sailing for a few years now, but this is my first experience with an Atomic 4, and was hoping that I could find someone to work with this spring to ensure that I have it in good running shape before she sees the water.

While I realize that traditional mechanics dont really "teach" while they work, I was hoping that you could also show me around this engine a little.
What I am looking for is a basic engine check; as well as any advice with regards to oil changes, new carb, fuel, fuel filter, etc etc .

I store the boat in Canal Street Marina during the off months.

I realize it is a bit early in the Chicago winter season to start worrying about it, but as a true Chicago sailor, the winters are the worst, and I cant wait to get back in the lake!

Please feel free to contact me if you have knowledge of A4's, and are willing to share or work out a deal.

Thanks!

~Bryan

See less See more
#2 ·
Welcome aboard Bryan!

I can't help you, unfortunately; but there is an interesting article on the history of the A-4 in this month's Good Old Boat. You should check it out.

#3 ·
Bryan,
I strongly advise you to find the Moyer Marine website and register over there to use their forums for finding out all about the A4 (moyermarine.com). Doing the simple stuff yourself (change oil, replace plugs/wires, water pump impeller etc.) is easy if you have the right tools.
There are a number of A4 owners on this forum and CardiacPaul is a surveyor who seems to know this engine quite well (but he is in south Florida).