SailNet Community - View Single Post -
Thread:
View Single Post
Old 12-16-2004

c172guy is on a distinguished road
I am no social scientist but I believe in reason. A society based upon reason is better for many reasons. When the churches position that the earth was flat and that the sun went around the earth it was based on the bible. The bible clearly states that god stopped the sun from going down so that the Isrealis would have more time to kill their enemys. Just to question that ideal was a sin. Reasonable people decided that what they saw with their own eyes only made sense if the earth was going around the sun. Joshua Slocum when he went to south africa, a very religous country, was forbidden to say that he was sailing around the earth. He had to say that he was sailing around on the earth. In bible school I learned about king david and his battle with Golaith. They left off the part about Saul''s sin. He was supposed to kill every man ,woman, child and animal. He was supposed to cut down every fruit tree and grape vine. Posion the wells with salt. Leave nothing but scorched earth. Saul''s sin was that he kept some of the animals!!!! A loving god indeed. Exactly what did a goat or sheep do wrong??? We won''t even ask about an infant child''s sin.