SailNet Community - View Single Post - What makes a good family cruiser boat?
View Single Post
Old 01-11-2005

PCP will become famous soon enough
What makes a good family cruiser boat?

Interesting thread.

I have some experience, since in summer my family and I live and cruise for 1 month and a half in our boat.

Let me summ up what has been said and it seems more important to me:

"The specifics of what makes a good family cruiser will vary with the family."

"Today, I think that people expect a lot more out of a boat, comforts that are closer to home."

"Generally, these days the focus of a Family cruiser leans toward a certain amount of room to lounge and carry the kinds of ''toys'' that keep a family amused."

"Galleys tend to be surprisingly well equipped, approaching all of the comforts of home."

"Today almost the smallest boats have pressure water and so the water tankage has to be quite large."

" Two very young children as ''crew'' will mean someone quite often will be required to have the ''Kid Watch''....so for starters, you''ll want a boat that is easily handled - by either of you - and sails without fuss. This may be in conflict with your husband''s desire to have a ''racer/cruiser'' "

"This may also argue for a boat that is smaller rather than larger. (It doesn''t speak to any specific boat choice, but I''d put an autopilot at the top of your ''extras'' list".

".....you should look at the cockpit carefully. E.g. a mainsheet traveller bisecting & spanning the cockpit, often found on boats set up to race, is just an impediment and tripping hazard to young kids wanting to spread out their toys."

"Talk with your husband about the local area and and how that should influence your boat choice. E.g. secluded anchorages or easy access to shore, for the benefit of family cruising, might dictate a shallower draft"...