SailNet Community - View Single Post - The Entire Summer is OPEN. Take Me Sailing?!
View Single Post
Old 05-18-2009

roadtripfool is on a distinguished road
Maybe I misjudged the likes of the sailing company...I hope I didn't, but like I said, I'm new to this. Can't say I know anybody who does sail. I guess that's what I get for bein' landlocked by 900 miles while growing up.

Am I anybody special? Well, shoot, I was born, I'll breathe, I'll die, just like the rest of them. Could you have fun with someone else and not me? I would surely hope so. Am I "better" than anyone else? You'll never hear me say that.

But for me, the thought of me sharing my joy with someone else is what life is all about. I fly for a living, and my biggest joy is taking someone else up for the first time. Seeing their entire world open up and change just can't be put into words. Do I ask what they have to offer? Do I ask what type of company they'll provide? Do I sarcastically belittle them? I hope not. It's just worth it to know that they get such satisfaction out of a new experience.

If you don't want to sail with me, that's fine. I'm a big boy, I can take "no" as an answer. I've certainly had my fair share of those while growin' up! But let's not assume too much first about me. When I said I would like to "camp out" somewhere, I am talking about me getting a house in some city, working, and spending the time off on the water with people. I would just like to know where that location should be. If I'm required to pay for "onboard expenses" as they are called, well, then let's talk it out! I have been lookin' for some time now to know that some people require shared expenses...but at the same time, I have seen numerous ads of someone just wanting company...or of wanting to share their lifestyle.