SailNet Community - View Single Post - Racing Rules Question
View Single Post
post #1 of Old 06-13-2009 Thread Starter
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Racing Rules Question

Two boats are heading to windward, Boat A is starboard and Boat B is Port. Boat A clearly has the right of way (ROW). Boat B has to tack on to a starboard tack same tack as boat A, boat B tacks short, which know is the leeward, Boat has is on the layline, not close hauled, boat A has about 10 degrees before close hauled. Boat A carries more speed and is passing boat B, however boat B decides to sail close hauled to initiate a penalty situation, however boat A responds by sailing away which pushes her stern within five feet of Boat B. Boat B reacts and alters coarse, creating the penalty situation. Boat B claims it is fouled and had to alter coarse. The chances of a collison are little because both boats are sailing about the same coarse now. Within seconds boat A will be clear ahead, because it has more sppeed.

The Questions
At what distance between boast is altering coarse justified?
Are there any rules to protect the Boat A when the Boat B tacked on top of Boat A.
Questions needed, has boat B completed its tack and at what point does it gain the ROW?
Is this a foul?

Help greatly appriciated
waterlu is offline  
Quote Share with Facebook
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome