SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Sailing Expedition?

2K views 6 replies 5 participants last post by  duffer1960 
#1 ·
So here''s my story... I''m 25 and love the outdoors. I graduated college 3 years ago and took off for Europe for 2 months 2 days after I graduated. I got a job doing Research trying to figure out what I want to do w/my life. I am now beginning Pharmacy School this fall and want to take another adventure before I begin. I am finished with my job in June and begin school in Early September. I have always wanted to sail/learn to sail something along those lines. I''m debating on what to do. I also am entertaining the idea of taking an expedition to Alaska or someother remote area, but sailing would be my top choice.
IDEALLY, I would love to spend a 3 weeks or more on the water, learning to sail while enjoying all that sailing and the open water has to offer. I am currently searching for companies that offer this, but am coming up short. I''d even join an individual/s, or whatever else is out there.
I am seeking any advice, information, or anything related to this topic that anyone has!

Thanks
Tom

#2 ·
If you find a company that offers 3 week courses on the water paying employees to learn how to sail, please let me know. This board is full of people who would like to be paid to go sailing. No one is going to pay you to LEARN how to sail.

You want adventure and are going to pharmacy school? If you want to get paid to be an adventurer you are going to have to pay your dues and sign on for whatever you can for probably no money - more likely you will have to kick in money to finance the adventure. Build a reputation and maybe someone will actually pay you to have fun.

Dreams are great, but yours is going to require a lot of sacrifice.

Good luck.

#3 ·