SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Is the fuel & water tankage on PSC37 enough for ocean voyaging?

5K views 10 replies 9 participants last post by  teejayevans 
#1 ·
Hi All,

During my process of understanding what is the best boat to buy for sailing ~2 years in the Pacific ocean, I have been looking with interest at the PSC37.

Bearing in mind I am still learning what define a bluewater sailboat through reading dozen of books (Currently, The Voyager's Handbook, Beth Leonard), one concern I have is about tankage.

Comparing the PSC37 with other boats of same reputation (Valiant 40, Tayana 37, Cabo Rico 36/38, Shannon 38) I am concerned about the small tankage of PSC37 (~50 G of water, ~40 G of fuel).

Can additional fuel or water tanks be added? Are those volume actually enough and I shouldn't be worried? How do current owner of PSC37 that have gone sailing long-term deal with these small tanks?

Thanks for your input,
Philippe

#2 ·
Water tankage should be more like 80-85 gallons for the PSC 37. Some examples may have been set up differently or altered after leaving the factory, though.

#3 ·
... I am concerned about the small tankage of PSC37 (~50 G of water, ~40 G of fuel).
Philippe,

I don't have the water tankage figures for the PSC 37 in front of me, but I'm confident the figure you quote above is incorrect or incomplete. I would expect that the PSC 37 tankage approaches 100+ gallons. What you may have there is a figure for only one of two tanks.

By way of comparison, our PSC 31 carries 70 gallons water (65 + 5 gallons in hot water heater), and the tankage for the PSC 34 is in the neighborhood of 75-80, while the PSC 40 carries around 140-150 gallons.