Rights and luffing sails
Hi All, I seem to remember that many years ago, a boat sitting on a race course with her sails flapping in the breeze, so that they were not "full and drawing" had no rights.
I was just reviewing the rules and I can't find this rule. Now it seems that the only time a luffing boat has no rights is during a tack, from the time the boom crosses the centerline to the time the boat is on a close hauled course. And even then, its not clear to me that the sails have to be full to be on a close hauled course.
Have things changed, or am I just not looking hard enough?