SailNet Community - View Single Post - Rights and luffing sails
View Single Post
post #1 of Old 08-03-2009 Thread Starter
Senior Member
jarcher's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Smithfield, RI
Posts: 1,008
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 8
Rights and luffing sails

Hi All, I seem to remember that many years ago, a boat sitting on a race course with her sails flapping in the breeze, so that they were not "full and drawing" had no rights.

I was just reviewing the rules and I can't find this rule. Now it seems that the only time a luffing boat has no rights is during a tack, from the time the boom crosses the centerline to the time the boat is on a close hauled course. And even then, its not clear to me that the sails have to be full to be on a close hauled course.

Have things changed, or am I just not looking hard enough?
jarcher is offline  
Quote Share with Facebook
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome