SailNet Community - View Single Post - Rules Brainteaser
View Single Post
post #6 of Old 08-21-2009
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Riverton, NJ
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Hi Diva27,

I have to confess that I know zero about ISAF racing rules, but I do want to comment on one thing you mentioned.
In the situation you describe, power gives way to sail, period. So the powerboat must avoid both, and we can take it out of the equation.
That is not correct. When a sailboat is over taking a powerboat (even though this may not happen all that often) the power boat is the stand-on vessel and the sailboat is the give-way. I'm being picky, but also if the sailboat has the engine on (or perhaps in gear?) even if his sails are up (motor sailing) the sailboat is considered a powerboat and must follow those rules. Hope you don't mind my critique. The more I post here I'm sure you will get an opportunity to return the favor. :-)

-- Dave
s/v Glass Half Full
1997 Beneteau Oceanis 281

Last edited by fud; 08-21-2009 at 02:00 PM.
fud is offline  
Quote Share with Facebook
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome