SailNet Community - View Single Post - 34'' - 38'' Coastal Cruiser - My wants vs. my needs.
View Single Post
Old 09-19-2005

ckorody is on a distinguished road
34'''' - 38'''' Coastal Cruiser - My wants vs. my needs.

I had a Mason 44 and spent many years and more dollars cherrying her out. She was a classic CCA design with oodles of S&S influence - very Hinckleyesque - just the sort of thing you are descibing sans the canoe stern. She was truly Bristol and the belle of every anchorage.

Long story short - since this is about you - we got tired of the maintenance and sold her. And we got a J32 - which is a great little cruising boat for what you want and frankly a lot more fun to sail on a sunny afternoon. But way definitely not the same thing...

As an engineer I am sure you can appreciate how much technology has advanced in the last 25 years - everything from design to materials...

Here is what it comes down to. There is no real replacement for the sheer joy a beautiful boat brings. If it is a burden to keep her, then its a bad deal. Otherwise have at it.

As far as performance. The Mason was an awesome boat once the wind got going over 10-12kts. Sucked in light air. We called her the Buick Roadmaster - strictly a cadillac ride. We had all the strings on her and found her to be very responsive to subtle changes in trim. I suspect the boats on your shortlist fall in this category.

Point being that once it starts to blow, (and 15 knots really isn''t even blowing) there is nothing like a bluewater boat. As the ads say, the sea hasn''t changed... A long narrow hull with a lot of lead is easily driven. A boat with overhangs is often tender - something Robert Perry equates to seakindly. Forget the hobby horse crap - with the kind of mass you have on these boats, the normal head sea is not going to stop your forward motion as it would on a lighter more modern boat.