SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

couple questions

2K views 2 replies 3 participants last post by  pedcab 
#1 ·
okay, im pretty new to sailing (learned to sail at camp) and i really want my own boat, i loveeee laser's but there way to much used so im looking at either a used zuma or a used force 5 any suggestions?

also, what is the fastest point of sail and if you were trying to get to a location would you travel in a straight line assuming you're not sailing into the wind or would you tack on a different point of sail until you reach your destination?

what happens if you over pull in the mainsheet? would you just heal over more? i know how to find out but im not near a boat right now:)

thanks so much

#2 ·
It would help if you said what your budget for the boat was... there are a lot of small boats out there...

As for the fastest point of sail, it depends on the boat.

As for whether you'd travel in a straight line or not, it depends on the boat and the point of sail to the destination. If the destination is dead downwind, many boats will get there faster by "beating" downwind from a broad reach to a broad reach, since the boat's VMG will be higher than if it sails DDW.

#3 · (Edited)
okay, im pretty new to sailing (learned to sail at camp) and i really want my own boat, i loveeee laser's but there way to much used so im looking at either a used zuma or a used force 5 any suggestions?

also, what is the fastest point of sail and if you were trying to get to a location would you travel in a straight line assuming you're not sailing into the wind or would you tack on a different point of sail until you reach your destination?

what happens if you over pull in the mainsheet? would you just heal over more? i know how to find out but im not near a boat right now:)

thanks so much