SailNet Community - View Single Post - Crewing up for Norway-Tenerife 2010
View Single Post
post #8 of Old 11-24-2009
Send a message via Skype™ to alooseleaf
Sailing away!

My name is Alyssa. I am a 21 year old American student, gearing up to graduate in May 2010 with a BA in Sociology and Anthropology. I fell in love with sailing when I was 10 years old. We had little 10 foot boats at my summer camp, and every chance I got I was out sailing one. This summer I worked as a nanny in Turkey and spent some time with the family on a 37’ Sun Odyssey on the Aegean Sea. This semester at school I took a sailing course where I sailed a 14’ Catalina Capri.

Though I do not have a sailing certification, I do have an irresistible passion for the wind and sea. I am familiar with the intuitive motions of sailing, much of the vocabulary and I am a quick and efficient learner. I hope to have a boat of my own within the next five years, but for now I am looking for the chance to sail and see the world with some more seasoned seafarers.

I am a certified lifeguard (though I think my certification is up this June...) I speak French. I took one semester of Spanish and find that I understand more than I can speak, but also have a propensity for picking languages up quickly (as I saw when I spent time in Turkey and Viet Nam.)
I have a lot of travel experience and have no problem being in a confined space with a group of people for extended periods of time. Countries I have visited include: Italy, France, England, Belgium, Sweden, Germany, Cambodia, New Zealand and Canada. I studied for half a year in Vietnam and worked in Turkey for three months.