SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Trying to Choose a Caribbean Route

2K views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  orthomartin 
#1 ·
This is my first year as a live aboard cruiser. Last winter my husband and I took our first cruise to the Abacos and back to the Chesapeake Bay. We are now heading toward the Caribbean but trying to decide where to go. We were initially planning to go to the western caribbean via Mexico, Belize and spend hurricane season in the Rio Dulce of Guatemala. After reading other cruisers experiences it seems that could be a difficult route.

We still like the idea of summering in Rio Dulce, but are considering first going to the Bahamas, Dominican Republic and then head west to Honduras and Guatemala. I've not been able to find any information of anyone doing this and wonder if there is a good reason for not going that route.

Our other option is taking the thorny path down to South America and visit Guatemala the following year heading back north.

Any information or opinions would be appreciated.

#3 ·
We have a fairly well equipped Tayana V42. 150gal diesel, 250gal water, watermaker, vhf, ssb, wind generator, solar panels, raymarine nav system with radar and sonar. Electronic autopilot as well as a Monitor wind vane. Emergency equipment includes a 6 man offshore life raft, epirb, and extended first aid kit. Currently our weather is from Chris Parker via SSB but additionally, we plan to add a pactor modem before leave florida to get grib files off shore. The vessel also has a set of storm sails but we do not have any experience using them.