SailNet Community - View Single Post - Best Bottom Paint for Trailer Boats
View Single Post
Old 12-13-2009
Jace2

Jace2 is on a distinguished road
Okay, now what I'm about to say is probably going to sound crazy, and I'm not convinced myself about it. But here goes.

I read an article where an experienced sailor who has used this material stands by it. The material? House paint. That's right, regular old, exterior acrylic house paint. Sounds counter intuitive, but he said it's as good as any marine paint, and better than most. And MUCH cheaper!

I'm a professional painter and have been for over 25 years. I've used lacquer, poly, latex, acrylic, oil, and many others. I used to be a luthier (one who builds and repairs guitars) so I know paints quite well. And yes, the way they are making house paints with many different polymers and other such chemical properties is impressive.

I painted the underside of the metal canopy of a Sonic drive-in restaurant one time. The old paint was flaking and hanging like leaves in the fall. As I always do, I used a good quality exterior acrylic. With paints of this sort, if a small dime sized drop is found dried on a smooth concrete floor, you simply remove it with a putty knife. As a rule, it pops off quite easily. On this particular job, though, we had put in the additive Emulsa-Bond.