SailNet Community - View Single Post - Miami Boat Show, Catalina,Hunter,Beneteau,Jeanueau
View Single Post
Old 02-23-2010

PCP will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melrna View Post
I have toured the factories of a few builders but not Hunter. .... I also used to work for DuPont in fiberglass composite research for in both layup, destructive and non-destructive testing. I have 3 degrees including a master degree in Industrial engineering. I am a NASA contract test pilot and 20 year military test pilot. So the bottom line is I know a thing or two about systems, engineering, composites and a few other areas. ...
Whowwww!!!!

Melrna,
I have suggested that you have a look at the First 50, because it seemed to me that you appreciate well designed boats. The relatively new First 50 (and the 45) are not only “excellent boats for those looking for performance” as you put it. I think that you have not been inside one (I apologize if otherwise). I believe that if you had you would immediately understand the cruising potential of the boat. The interiors are superb, very well designed and give a notion of space and good living, very rare on cruiser-racers of that size and certainly have nothing to do with the interior of the older model.

When the 45 appeared on the market it has come only with a draft of 2.4 and 2.7 and that would put a limit on the boat cruising capacities. I saw the boat at the time of its presentation in a boat show (Dusseldorf?) and have asked to a European major dealer if they would not make a short draft version for cruising? He said No, no way. This is a cruiser-racer.