SailNet Community - View Single Post - Gulf of Mexico oil spill
View Single Post
Old 06-04-2010

knothead has a spectacular aura about knothead has a spectacular aura about knothead has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeelHaulin View Post
No; it's not carbon negative. It's "considered" carbon negative because you end up with charcoal. That does not mean that there was not a chemical reaction that released gasses and particulate matter. I'm not saying there is anything wrong with what you are doing (tilling carbon back in to your garden); but to say it results in less pollution is a bit misleading. There are still emissions related to the pyrolysis and I don't think tars, particulates, and methanes are things you want to be breathing in every day when you cook dinner.
Keel, I'm no scientist so I can only go by what I read. And I've read just about everything on the subject that I can find.

"Design with the correct secondary air flow ensures
near-stoichiometric combustion that allows attainment of peak combustion temperatures with accompanying
high water boiling efficiencies (up to 50% for vessels of practical relevance) and very
low emissions (of carbon monoxide, particulate matter and oxides of nitrogen)."

http://www.ias.ac.in/currsci/10mar2010/627.pdf

"Paul’s TLUD stoves have been tested and shown to produce very low emissions of CO and particulates."

5 Gallon (22-liter) TLUD Stove for Biochar | BioEnergy Lists: BioChar (or Terra Preta)

"Recognized as a “carbon neutral” initiative; In fact would be "carbon negative" when the charcoal is dumped back into the soil."

TLUD Gasifier Stoves - A wood stove with a difference | Servals Automation Pvt Ltd

This last site has a chart at the bottom that shows carbon monoxide and particulate matter emissions for various stoves, but it's so small I can't read it.