SailNet Community - View Single Post - can it be done ?
View Single Post
Old 06-11-2010

rainbowinme is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to rainbowinme
can it be done ?

HI ALL,
THIS IS MY FIRST TIME ON SAIL-NET I HAVE BEEN A LONG TIME READER & JUST LOVE THE WEALTH OF INFO HERE , I REALLY NEED SOME THOUGHTS FROM YOU GUY'S / LADY'S , I LIVE HERE IN AUSTRALIA , AND I LIVE & THINK OF SAILING EVERY WAKING HOUR , I HAVE HAD NO REAL SAIL EXPERIENCE ONLY LOTS OF BOOKS / DVD'S SO FAR , PLANNING ON SOME SORT OF SAILING COURSE IN THE NEAR FUTURE, I NEED YOUR HELP & ADVICE ON WHAT YOU THINK ABOUT MY IDEA , I AM STILL 2 YEARS SHORT OF MY ADVENTURE & STILL SAVING , I WANT TO FLY OVER TO TURKEY & BUY A WOODEN GULET , 20m LENGTH , 5.6m BEAM , 2 MAST , 2 HELM STATIONS , 6 CABINS (A VERY BIG BOAT )
FOR ONE MAN .
IS WHAT I WANT TO KNOW IS CAN I BRING A BOAT BACK TO AUSTRALIA BY MYSELF, AS A SOLO SAILOR ,THE VENTURE IS 15000 nm TRIP , ( ABOUT 6 MONTH'S) I TEND TO SET THE BOAT UP TO BE AS SHORT HANDED AS POSSIBLE, WITH ALL THE LATEST ELECTRONIC EQUIPMENT INCLUDING, AUTO-PILOT , RADER , ANY THING THAT WILL HELP, I TEND TO STAY IN TURKEY FOR A COUPLE OF WEEKS WITH THE BOAT AND PAY FOR LESSONS ON MY NEW BOAT EVERY DAY BEFORE I LEAVE WITH A EXPERIENCED SKIPPER / CREW , JUST OFFSHORE, IS WHAT I WANT TO KNOW IS SHOULD A ROUND THE WORLD TRIP BE ATTEMPTED SOLO IN SUCH A BIG BOAT , ONLY HAVING JUST A FEW INSHORE LESSONS / READING BOOKS / & SETTING THE MIND STRAIGHT FOR THE ADVENTURE FOR THE PAST 6 YEARS , I COULD TAKE THE WIFE & SON WITH ME, IF I KNOW IT WILL BE SAFE TO DO SO , NOR DO I WANT TO PAY FOR CREW IF I DON'T NEED TO , I MEAN IF A 16 YEAR OLD CAN DO IT SOLO ,CAN I WITH ONLY LITTLE EXPERIENCE , I COULD EASILY BUY A BOAT IN MY COUNTRY , AND JUST FORGET ABOUT THE WHOLE IDEA BUT WHERE IS THE ADVENTURE IN THAT.