SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Casting Call for Fall/Frostbites- West River, Maryland

1K views 4 replies 3 participants last post by  JohnRPollard 
#1 ·
Crew wanted for Sunday afternoon races on the West River/Chesapeake Bay from early October to 21 November.

Environment: Low-intensity, enjoyable, round-the-cans racing.
Boat: 25' Coronado.
Crew: Looking for foredeck/mast, jib/spin trimmer, and rail in addition to myself. (4 total)
I'm a newb skipper, so at least lightly seasoned crew is preferred. It would be difficult for me to teach non-sailors while I'm learning to skipper.

SPINNAKER DIVISION IS AVAILABLE. If I get experienced crew, we'll register as spin-class and have fun flying the asymm, if I don't, then we'll white-sail it.

Putting this ad out early, because I'm new and want plenty of time to get my s--t together. A couple of crew meetings, examine the boat layout for potential improvements, practices, etc.

Interested parties, PM me here.

#2 ·
This sounds like a great opportunity, folks. I can vouch that the races on the West River (run by WRSC) are well organized and it's a great venue. There are some pretty competitive boats there, too (i.e. quite a few modern race hulls).

#3 ·
I can't do the whole season but you can count me in for some of the races. I can do pretty much any position that you need onboard, including coaching if you wish.

Jeff

#4 ·
LOL..my PHRF rating is so high, that those sport boats will owe me an entire day.:rolleyes:

The latest Ches. Bay PHRF sheet shows Co25's rating at around 240-250. John, I am of course looking for experienced help so that I can tap into your brains.