SailNet Community - View Single Post - Start rule question different fleets
View Single Post
post #1 of Old 11-24-2010 Thread Starter
NotQuiteCapnRon's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rivals, Kentucky
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 10
Start rule question different fleets

Windward start. Boat A is approximately 3 minutes late to the start line. Boat B is in the next fleet to start and within her 4 minute start sequence and making a research run at the line...Therefore both boats are racing by rule. Boat A (leeward) (both starboard) meets boat B near the starting line. Boat B forces boat A down the line and denies boat A ability to start, forcing boat B to jibe, tack, and alter course to cross start line. No other boats are involved or near. Is this within the rules of racing?

Just trying to learn.


Last edited by NotQuiteCapnRon; 11-24-2010 at 10:41 PM. Reason: correction
NotQuiteCapnRon is offline  
Quote Share with Facebook
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome