SailNet Community - View Single Post - Start rule question different fleets
View Single Post
  #2  
Old 11-24-2010
Classic30's Avatar
Classic30 Classic30 is online now
Once known as Hartley18
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4,617
Thanks: 38
Thanked 54 Times in 54 Posts
Rep Power: 9
Classic30 will become famous soon enough Classic30 will become famous soon enough
Good question..

Not sure what you mean by "forcing boat B to jibe, tack, and alter course to cross start line", but since Boat A has technically "started" (Boat A's start signal has gone), I'd say that, no, it's isn't within the rules of racing because boats that haven't started are not supposed to interfere with those that have... but I'd need to check that up.
__________________
-
"Honestly, I don't know why seamen persist in getting wrecked in some of the outlandish places they do, when they can do it in a nice place like Fiji." -- John Caldwell, "Desperate Voyage"
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook