SailNet Community - View Single Post - Start rule question different fleets
View Single Post
post #2 of Old 11-24-2010
Once known as Hartley18
Classic30's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 5,046
Thanks: 48
Thanked 77 Times in 77 Posts
Rep Power: 10
Good question..

Not sure what you mean by "forcing boat B to jibe, tack, and alter course to cross start line", but since Boat A has technically "started" (Boat A's start signal has gone), I'd say that, no, it's isn't within the rules of racing because boats that haven't started are not supposed to interfere with those that have... but I'd need to check that up.

"Honestly, I don't know why seamen persist in getting wrecked in some of the outlandish places they do, when they can do it in a nice place like Fiji." -- John Caldwell, "Desperate Voyage"
Classic30 is offline  
Quote Share with Facebook
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome