SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Wannabe Sailor

2K views 9 replies 5 participants last post by  lgherb 
#1 ·
I am new to sailing also and have the bug real bad after spending a week in Abaco last week....My mind is racing with thoughts of my own boat too. I have my eye on a 28' Hunter with two berths, galley, head, etc....I just keep telling my wife it is a different type of RV....So, I am trying to approach this the right way. Education first. Next week, I am taking a 10 hour adult basic sailing class taught on the water in a Flying Scott. Then in about two weeks, I will be at the beach with the Family and have made arrangements with a sailing club to go out with a few of their members. After that, who knows. Of course to make matters worse, I have a co-worker who is trying to get me into his friends boat....buying it; a 1987 28' Hunter. My thought, or maybe my plan, is to take the course, go out to gain some experience, and then in September (just in time to put it up for the winter) maybe buy the 28 footer and gain experience and confidence as time goes along.

Anyway, just sharing my sailing dream and love with fellow sailors and other wannabe sailors.

#2 · (Edited)
Sounds very well thought out.
Heres my story: